0 Items $0.00

P 651.430.3385
F 651.430.8135

Valley Bookseller - the bookstore with great reads!

Author Event

Small Walt - Elizabeth Verdick

BLACK FRIDAY meet and greet/signing with local author Elizabeth Verdick as she presents her brand new picture book: Small Walt. 

A tiny snowplow determined to prove his worth battles a blizzard in this supremely charming story in the tradition of Mike Mulligan and His Steam Shovel and The Little Engine that Could.

My name is Walt, 
I plow and I salt.
They say I'm small, 
but I'll show them all.

Small Walt Cover Image
By Elizabeth Verdick, Marc Rosenthal (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781481448451
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Simon & Schuster/Paula Wiseman Books - October 31st, 2017

Woodland Manitou - Heidi Barr

Woodland Manitou: To Be on Earth is a collection of essays rooted in the rhythm of the natural world. Through the turn of the seasons, Heidi Barr illustrates how the cycles of the earth have informed her everyday life from community to vocation...

Heidi will be at Valley Bookseller for a meet and greet/signing - stop in to meet her and get your copy!

Woodland Manitou Cover Image
$17.95
ISBN: 9781938846724
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Homebound Publications - September 19th, 2017

The Family Cabin - Dale Mulfinger

In The Family Cabin, author and "cabinologist" Dale Mulfinger explains the role that cabins have had and continue to have in family bonding and as a repository for family history, nostalgia, and cherished memories. This collection brings together 37 new and old cabins from across North America as inspiration for anyone who desires a peaceful retreat of their own.

Dale Mulfinger will be in the store with his latest, The Family Cabin: Inspirations for Camps, Cottages and Cabins. Stop by to get a signed copy - makes a great Holiday gift!

The Family Cabin: Inspiration for Camps, Cottages, and Cabins Cover Image
$34.95
ISBN: 9781631866524
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Taunton Press - September 12th, 2017

BOOK LAUNCH: Monsters in the Hallway by Capt. Jim Kosmo

Stop by to celebrate the book launch of Monsters in the Hallway, the newest book by Capt Jim Kosmo (Still Standing).

In December 1949, life was nearly perfect for Jason Korsen—until his father’s imaginary friend told him to kill his family. They escaped death but Jason’s father, Peder, was sent to the insane asylum.

Monsters in the Hallway Cover Image
$19.95
ISBN: 9781592987214
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Beaver's Pond Press - October 17th, 2017

F. Scott Fitzgerald in Minnesota - Dave Page

Join us at the Stillwater Public Library as we welcome Dave Page!

If you think you know F. Scott Fitzgerald, this book will come as a delightfully intimate surprise. Fitzgerald scholar Dave Page has meticulously scoured the letters, scrapbooks, and diaries of the great American novelist, offering a fresh look at the young writer and his St. Paul friends and neighbors. Readers will learn about--and recognize--the sources for the characters and the places he wrote about--as well as understand why St. Paul so inspired him.

F. Scott Fitzgerald in Minnesota: The Writer and His Friends at Home Cover Image
By Dave Page, Jeff Krueger (Photographer)
$39.95
ISBN: 9781517902995
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: University of Minnesota Press - June 2nd, 2017

A Hero Dreams - Mark Ristau

Devastated by his father's sudden death, eight-year-old Ricky begins to see things--a ghostly silhouette in his bedroom window, a gruesome train accident involving four local teenagers, a terrorist attack that won't occur for another twenty-five years. After a traumatic incident at a New England summer camp, the visions become more frequent, more vivid, and more disturbing. A mysterious voice assures him everything will be okay if he crosses the ''threshold.'' But just what is the threshold? And what lies beyond?

A Hero Dreams Cover Image
$19.95
ISBN: 9781592988037
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Beaver's Pond Press - September 21st, 2017

BOOK LAUNCH: Giant Pumpkin Suite by Melanie Heuiser Hill

Twelve-year-old Rose Brutigan has grown seven inches in the last eight months. She's always been different from her twin brother, Thomas, but now she towers over him in too many ways. The gap in their interests continues to widen as well. Musically talented Rose is focused on winning the upcoming Bach Cello Suites Competition, while happy-go-lucky Thomas has taken up the challenge of growing a giant pumpkin in the yard of their elderly neighbor, Mr. Pickering.

Giant Pumpkin Suite Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780763691554
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Candlewick Press (MA) - September 12th, 2017

Literature Lovers' Night Out

Literature Lovers' Night Out comes to Stillwater! This monthly event, hosted by Pamela Klinger-Horn, features national and local authors, light refreshments and drawings for prizes. Attendees must reserve a spot by stopping in or calling 651-430-3385 to purchase their $11 ticket.

Featured Authors for November:

Sulfur Springs Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781501147340
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Atria Books - August 22nd, 2017

Montaigne in Barn Boots: An Amateur Ambles Through Philosophy Cover Image
$19.49
ISBN: 9780062230560
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Harper - November 7th, 2017

The Lake and the Lost Girl Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9781492642466
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Sourcebooks Landmark - June 6th, 2017

The Next Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9781250110572
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: St. Martin's Griffin - August 15th, 2017

Little Broken Things Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781501133602
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Atria Books - November 21st, 2017

Literature Lovers' Night Out

Literature Lovers' Night Out comes to Stillwater! This monthly event, hosted by Pamela Klinger-Horn, features national and local authors, light refreshments and drawings for prizes. Attendees must reserve a spot by stopping in or calling 651-430-3385 to purchase their $11 ticket.

Featured Authors for October:

The Deep Dark Descending Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9781633883550
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Seventh Street Books - October 3rd, 2017

Never Coming Back Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781328767561
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Houghton Mifflin - October 10th, 2017

Give a Girl a Knife: A Memoir Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780307954909
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Clarkson Potter Publishers - May 16th, 2017

The Supremes Sing the Happy Heartache Blues Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781250107947
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Henry Holt & Company - June 20th, 2017

Literature Lovers' Night Out

Literature Lovers' Night Out comes to Stillwater! This monthly event, hosted by Pamela Klinger-Horn, features national and local authors, light refreshments and drawings for prizes. Attendees must reserve a spot by stopping in or calling 651-430-3385 to purchase their $11 ticket.

Featured Authors for September:

A Paris All Your Own: Bestselling Women Writers on the City of Light Cover Image
By Eleanor Brown (Editor)
$16.00
ISBN: 9780399574474
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons - July 4th, 2017

Young Jane Young Cover Image
$26.95
ISBN: 9781616205041
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Algonquin Books - August 22nd, 2017

If the Creek Don't Rise Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9781492647454
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Sourcebooks - August 1st, 2017

The Book That Matters Most Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9780393354096
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - August 1st, 2017

Lie to Me: A Fast-Paced Psychological Thriller Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780778330950
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Mira Books - September 5th, 2017

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Author Event