Open daily 10-6

P 651.430.3385
 

Valley Bookseller - the bookstore with great reads!

A Very Nice Girl: A Novel (Hardcover)

Pre-Order Now Badge
A Very Nice Girl: A Novel Cover Image
$26.99
Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now

Description


"Tender, devastating, witty. And deeply true. Sweetbitter meets Normal People.”
—Meg Mason, author of Sorrow and Bliss

For fans of Luster and Sweetbitter, a razor-sharp debut novel about an ambitious young opera singer caught between devotion to her craft and an all-consuming affair with an older man

Anna knows she has talent, but she’s always felt out of place in the world of opera. A first-year student at a prestigious London conservatoire, she lives in a grim series of rented rooms with her friend Laurie, a sharp-tongued waitress and aspiring writer. Her days are devoted to highly competitive auditions and long, straining rehearsals. At night, she sings jazz in an expensive bar, relying on her popularity with the inebriated businessmen to make rent and stay afloat alongside her wealthy peers.

It’s there that Anna meets Max, a charismatic financier in the midst of a divorce who, at thirty-eight, is fourteen years Anna’s senior. Reluctantly impressed by Max—his stillness, his careful detachment—Anna soon finds herself desperate to hold his attention. As winter pervades the city, Anna begins a dangerous oscillation between hard-won moments on stage, where she can zip herself into the skin of her characters, and nightly stays at Max’s glass-walled flat. But as Anna’s fledgling career begins to demand her undivided attention, so too does Max, a situation that dangerously compounds until Anna must decide who—or what—she wants.

Intoxicatingly propulsive and written with lacerating precision, Imogen Crimp’s A Very Nice Girl is a clever, sexually charged portrait of a young woman finding her voice. With heartrending authenticity, it lays bare how we consciously shape our identities in the pursuit of power, desire, and a place to belong.

About the Author


Imogen Crimp studied English at Cambridge, followed by an MA in contemporary literature from University College London, where she specialized in female modernist writers. After university, she briefly studied singing at a London conservatoire. She was born in 1989 and lives in London. A Very Nice Girl is her debut novel.

Praise For…


"Transfixing from the start, A Very Nice Girl steals the show. Gorgeous prose, bone-dry humor and brutally shrewd observations make Imogen Crimp’s debut sing in this perilous love story about a talented young woman learning to wield her voice. Intimate and intoxicating, A Very Nice Girl absolutely dazzles."
—Beck Dorey-Stein, New York Times bestselling author of From the Corner of the Oval

"In A Very Nice Girl, Imogen Crimp explores complicated relationships, the creative life, and the challenges of living in London in your twenties, with precision and subtlety. Touching on feminism, power, finances, and the pleasures and dangers of a new relationship, this book is an assured debut."
—Claire Fuller, author of Unsettled Ground

"An exquisitely detailed novel—Crimp absolutely nails the intricate inner workings of the opera world. Humorous, biting, and unnervingly honest, the story explores one young woman’s path to finding herself."
—Addie Woolridge, author of The Checklist

"Imogen Crimp captures the glittering thrill of being young and choosing your own life with a dark, unflinching undercurrent of desire, power and control."
—Jessica Andrews, author of Saltwater

Product Details
ISBN: 9781250792778
ISBN-10: 1250792770
Publisher: Henry Holt and Co.
Publication Date: February 8th, 2022
Pages: 336
Language: English