0 Items $0.00

P 651.430.3385
F 651.430.8135

Valley Bookseller - the bookstore with great reads!

Author Event

Like to Die - David Housewright

A seemingly simple investigation, done as a favor for a friend, takes McKenzie down a dark and twisted path in Like to Die, the next mystery in David Housewright's award-winning series.

Like to Die: A McKenzie Novel (Twin Cities P.I. Mac McKenzie Novels #16) Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9781250094537
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Minotaur Books - June 19th, 2018

Novel Activism with Sarah Stonich and Ashley Shelby

Sarah Stonich believes stories can change the world. By subtly weaving cultural, environmental and political issues into fiction, writers can engage readers to relate to characters and communities directly affected by current (and looming) events. This is an interactive discussion, so attendees are encouraged to share and engage. Have you read a book that changed the way you look at something? Whether it’s the troubles of a tourist economy or the weak legal system, novels bring complicated social issues to life, reach across cultural divides and can shift readers’ perceptions.

Vacationland Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9780816687664
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: University of Minnesota Press - March 25th, 2013

The Ice Chorus Cover Image
$14.95
ISBN: 9780615621357
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Wordstalkers - July 4th, 2013

Shelter: Off the Grid in the Mostly Magnetic North (Fesler-Lampert Minnesota Heritage) Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781517902643
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: University of Minnesota Press - April 4th, 2017

These Granite Islands Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9780816683536
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: University of Minnesota Press - April 10th, 2013

South Pole Station Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781250112828
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Picador USA - July 3rd, 2017

On Liberty's Wings - Diane Dettmann

The end of World War II signals a new beginning for America, but for twenty-two-year-old Yasu Nakahara and her family, harsh prejudices remain. Now married and leading a new life, Yasu faces barriers almost as unyielding as the years she and her family spent imprisoned in the Japanese internment camp in California during the war. Motivated by flashbacks of armed military guards and barbwire fences, Yasu strives to build a new life.

On Liberty's Wings: A Post-WWII Novel Cover Image
$20.95
ISBN: 9781478714026
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Outskirts Press - October 6th, 2017

Cold Hard Truth Book Launch - Anne Greenwood Brown

Please join us in celebrating the release of Anne Greenwood Brown's new young adult novel COLD HARD TRUTH.

"Brown creates balance between thriller and romance." - School Library Journal

"...gripping...enticing..." - Booklist

Cold Hard Truth Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780807580837
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Albert Whitman & Company - April 3rd, 2018

Cold Hard Truth Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9780807580851
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Albert Whitman & Company - April 3rd, 2018

The Shadows in My Heart - Mary Havens

Big families cultivate chaos. Mary Havens knows this all too well. One of twelve children, she grew up on a picturesque Wisconsin dairy farm. Holidays, graduations, marriages, and newborns filled the farmhouse with the light of laughter and hugs. But for Mary, the unspoken eclipsed that light. Unresolved grief, abuse, religious dogma, and secrets left her in the shadows, lost and alone. Her profound story is one of determination, survival, and the ability to rise above the fray.

The Shadows in My Heart Cover Image
$17.95
ISBN: 9780692947548
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tumbleweed Mask Press - September 19th, 2017

Small Walt - Elizabeth Verdick

BLACK FRIDAY meet and greet/signing with local author Elizabeth Verdick as she presents her brand new picture book: Small Walt. 

A tiny snowplow determined to prove his worth battles a blizzard in this supremely charming story in the tradition of Mike Mulligan and His Steam Shovel and The Little Engine that Could.

My name is Walt, 
I plow and I salt.
They say I'm small, 
but I'll show them all.

Small Walt Cover Image
By Elizabeth Verdick, Marc Rosenthal (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781481448451
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Simon & Schuster/Paula Wiseman Books - October 31st, 2017

Woodland Manitou - Heidi Barr

Woodland Manitou: To Be on Earth is a collection of essays rooted in the rhythm of the natural world. Through the turn of the seasons, Heidi Barr illustrates how the cycles of the earth have informed her everyday life from community to vocation...

Heidi will be at Valley Bookseller for a meet and greet/signing - stop in to meet her and get your copy!

Woodland Manitou Cover Image
$17.95
ISBN: 9781938846724
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Homebound Publications - September 19th, 2017

The Family Cabin - Dale Mulfinger

In The Family Cabin, author and "cabinologist" Dale Mulfinger explains the role that cabins have had and continue to have in family bonding and as a repository for family history, nostalgia, and cherished memories. This collection brings together 37 new and old cabins from across North America as inspiration for anyone who desires a peaceful retreat of their own.

Dale Mulfinger will be in the store with his latest, The Family Cabin: Inspirations for Camps, Cottages and Cabins. Stop by to get a signed copy - makes a great Holiday gift!

The Family Cabin: Inspiration for Camps, Cottages, and Cabins Cover Image
$34.95
ISBN: 9781631866524
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Taunton Press - September 12th, 2017

BOOK LAUNCH: Monsters in the Hallway by Capt. Jim Kosmo

Stop by to celebrate the book launch of Monsters in the Hallway, the newest book by Capt Jim Kosmo (Still Standing).

In December 1949, life was nearly perfect for Jason Korsen—until his father’s imaginary friend told him to kill his family. They escaped death but Jason’s father, Peder, was sent to the insane asylum.

Monsters in the Hallway Cover Image
$19.95
ISBN: 9781592987214
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Beaver's Pond Press - October 17th, 2017

F. Scott Fitzgerald in Minnesota - Dave Page

Join us at the Stillwater Public Library as we welcome Dave Page!

If you think you know F. Scott Fitzgerald, this book will come as a delightfully intimate surprise. Fitzgerald scholar Dave Page has meticulously scoured the letters, scrapbooks, and diaries of the great American novelist, offering a fresh look at the young writer and his St. Paul friends and neighbors. Readers will learn about--and recognize--the sources for the characters and the places he wrote about--as well as understand why St. Paul so inspired him.

F. Scott Fitzgerald in Minnesota: The Writer and His Friends at Home Cover Image
By Dave Page, Jeff Krueger (Photographer)
$39.95
ISBN: 9781517902995
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: University of Minnesota Press - June 2nd, 2017

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Author Event